'burst timer'

aspland

Joined Jan 22, 2009
Hi everyone

I'm new to the site, I'm not that technical but I'll have a go. Appologies in advance for my lack of knowledge but is offset up by my enthusiasm to learn :).
I stumbled on the following link http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=16593 while trying to find a 'burst' timer. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to modify the circuit so that it self triggers approx every 15 minutes with the output variable from approx 5-30 seconds.
I would like to use it to control a greenhouse mister. The setup will be controlled by humidistat to switch on when humidity drops too low and the output will be to a 24v solenoid to actuate the mister. I need to keep the greenhouse in tropical conditions!

Thank you

Steve

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Here is a circuit:

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/circ/pwm555.html

Actually, this is a PWM circuit but it will work. Once you apply power to it, it will output a 5-30 sec pulse, then go low and output another pulse after 15 mins and so on.
To make it work, disconnect the 50K pot from D2 and connect it to P1. Then take a 1M resistor and place it between D2 and P1. Also, change C1 to 1000uF. The output is pin 3.

aspland

Joined Jan 22, 2009
Hi mik3, thank you for the quick response and circuit diagram, just what I need. I will attempt it but I may have to draw on your superior knowledge if I run into any problems :D.

Once again many thanks.
Steve

aspland

Joined Jan 22, 2009
Good morning, I have a few questions after looking at the circuit diagram as I'm a bit confused :confused:.

1. Can I use 24v on the whole circuit or use 12v (as indicated in the diagram) then use a relay to switch the 24v feed?
2. I'm a bit confused with the motor (MOT1), am I to use just the left part of the diagram (leaving out MOT1, C3,Q1,D3 & R2) suppling power to the 555 on pins 1+8 and the pulsed output will be from pin 3?

Please help

Steve

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008