Building your own project boxes?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by spinnaker, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,887
    1,018
    I have not build my own project box in years. Well I haven't built any projects in years either. :)


    What is the best way to build a box out of aluminum? Is it 4 bends for the top / sides and 4 bends for the bottom / front / rear?

    Or is there a better way?


    Any decent free CAD software for designing boxes?
     
  2. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    My opinion, 3 sides X2. You can put everything in one piece, and the other is the lid.

    Mostly done with folding.
     
  3. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    If they are boxes for electrical circuits it would be better to be plastic. If you use metalic boxes then you need to ground them if you use high voltages.
     
  4. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,519
    786
    I usually use 4mm plywood, with 10mm x 10mm wooden sticks in the corners.
     
  5. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,887
    1,018
    Sorry having a hard time envisioning that. Is there a drawing somewhere with what you mean? Can it be bent with a hand brake? Or do you need to fashion your own brake?
     
  6. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,887
    1,018
    It would be low voltage. How do you make your own plastic boxes without building a mold?
     
  7. Rbeckett

    Member

    Sep 3, 2010
    205
    32
    I use a plain old common brake and bend two u-shaped pieces, one with "lips" and interlock them to make an enclosed box. It's about the easiest way going. 5 minutes and 4 sheet netal screws and its done. PM me if you need dimensions
    Bob
     
  8. maxpower097

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2009
    795
    388
    For small packages I've seen people just shrink wrap the board. But honestly Digikey has so many varieties for cheap enough I'll just buy one I want for the specific project.
     
  9. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,887
    1,018
    This is the way I remember it being done but don't you wind up with a gap at each of the corners? Or is it not noticeable?
     
  10. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    [​IMG]

    Same thing as he said. You can use square stock to make mounting flanges.

    I don't have a break. I do have a bench vise, combine that with a large square chunk of metal and you can bend pretty neatly. A break would be better though. While I'm wishing I want a shear too. :D

    I had a thread about a year ago for something similar. Finding a source for premade square mounting flanges would be nice.

    Electronic Enclosures


    .
     
  11. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    Well, I buy them. :p
     
  12. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Like mik3, I buy boxes rather than make my own. I do so since I know that if I decide to make an additional device, I will be able to quickly get my hands an identical box.

    hgmjr
     
  13. thatoneguy

    AAC Fanatic!

    Feb 19, 2009
    6,357
    718

    I do the same.

    I will sometimes use plexiglass as a shield, which can be bent when warmed, but that is a tricky operation compared to putting sheet metal in a brake. Usually buy 3x the amount of plexiglass you intend to use, and one will come out right for a drill press shield, etc..
     
  14. Blackbull

    Well-Known Member

    Jul 26, 2008
    70
    6
    Where is Mr. Morse these days; his enclosures are stunners.
     
Loading...