Building My 2nd DRO, Need Some Help(Intro Post)

a._grofield

Joined Aug 7, 2013
I started out with machining as a hobby and it is now my business.

I wanted a digital readout but money is tight. So I decided to look into DIY.

I bought built a DRO-350 kit and I managed not to let the smoke out. I'm pleased with it.

A friend I made in China gave me his schematic and PCB files for a DRO which is much more advanced than a DRO 350.

The biggest difference for me to get started building, is that (1) I need to order a couple sets of PCB's with which to build them (2) I have to figure out what the Altium Bill of Materials is telling me to order

My training is in economics and then self taught machinist.

When I was a boy and a teenager I made simple electronics from boards and parts from the Shack, but I have not done that in years.

The DRO 350 was much easier to complete for a novice such as myself because of the huge amount of literature about completion, and the Bill of Materials was explicitly laid out.

I have a BOM generated by Altium for this new project, but it is not so explicit. My friend in China and I have a bit of a language barrier, and he is in graduate school and doesn't have time for hand holding.

I thought I would ask my questions here:

Item 1 on the BOM is: 0.01uF CAPC2512L, which is a chip capacitor rated at .01uF, and according to Altium the chip's data is:
Description Chip Capacitor, Body 2.54x1.27mm, IPC High Density Height 1.66mm Dimension 3.75mm x 1.75mm Number of Pads 2 Number of Primitives 14
This DRO uses a power pack of 5v, and it will interface to scales that run off of 3v batteries.

How do I figure out what chip capacitor to order ?

I am reading as much as I can, and I keep working on my soldering skills, but a lot of this is still foreign to me. As an old dog in his 30's, it is difficult to learn new tricks.

If I post my entire BOM, could someone help me determine what specific parts I need ?

Thank you.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009