Building An Arm Based Embedded Computer?

naf456

Joined May 24, 2012
Hello Nathan here.
I'm pretty much classed as a N00b when it comes to electronics.
All I have done is make a pretty LED glow by using a switch and some Batteries in DT.

However , I want to Design and Manufacture An ARM Based Computer.
I'm guessing it's like building a house when you don't know what end of the hammer to hold - I haven't a clue about Resistors and Transistors and Vacuums and Zener Diodes.

I have, however studied AS level Physics in school , which includes electronics, and using bridge rectifiers and Logic gates and finding values of resistors etc...

I was hoping to start off with the propeller chip - and learn about Circuits that way - hopefully being able to build a simple game console.

I'm a programmer at heart and have experience with X86 Assembly , albeit limited to some professionals.

The Idea is I wanted to Use TI's Siterra Micro Processor chip to build a cheap Computer

I'm just really looking for directions on what to do - where to start - is propeller a good starting point?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
It depends on how much MCU development you already have under your belt.

Do one step at a time.

Jump in at your appropriate experience level:

1. Arduino
  2. MCU programming: Atmel, Freescale, PIC, TI etc
  3. ASM and C programming on the above
  4. STM32F4-DISCOVERY, IAR EWARM

Last edited:

naf456

Joined May 24, 2012
Yeah - The Raspberry Pi is a development board and is hard to get hold of at the moment - Gotta wait till july till mine comes in, and it can't really be turned into an independent platform - it is an independent platform.

I want to build a device to my own specification, and sell it as a product.
I'm only 17 and was hoping to take electronic engineering at college.
However I'm still new to all this.
I don't understand the importance of capacitors - and why there used everywhere - all they do is conserve energy?