Building a Variable Speed Power Supply for My "No Frills" Treadmill

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Newbie001, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. Newbie001

    Thread Starter New Member

    Jul 8, 2014
    5
    0
    First, to all the electrical engineers that will see this post and shake their heads in frustration...I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge.

    OK...I have a treadmill that I've ripped down to the bare bones that I'm attempting to build a NO FRILLS power supply for. I'm going to bypass all the current existing circuitry and safety features and tie directly into the Hot, Neutral and Ground wires on the motor.

    The Information on the motor reads as follows:

    2.25 HP Continuous Duty Motor
    Manufacturer: Johnson Intigrated Drives
    Model: JM01-013
    Volts: DC90V
    RPM: 3150
    AMPS: 20A (s6 25%)
    Insul.: F
    AMB.: 40*C

    I want the power supply to have two controls:
    1.) An On/Off Switch
    2.) A Dial Type Rheostat for Speed Control

    Any help/designs/Input or charity to an electronically challenged guy will be greatly appreciated as I currently know almost nothing!!

    Thanks Everyone!!
     
  2. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    10,522
    2,369
    You won't run this motor on AC, if that is what you are thinking of doing, a bridge rectifier would work, but no speed control, you would be better off looking for a KB/Baldor SCR drive off ebay, they can be had for as low as $15.00.
    You will not be happy with a simple Rheostat kind of control.
    But you will if you place a controller between it and the motor!;)
    Max.
     
  3. Dodgydave

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 22, 2012
    4,979
    744
    You will need to put in a bridge rectifier, like this motor control circuit

    you will need to uprate the triac and bridge to suit the motor current.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2014
  4. Newbie001

    Thread Starter New Member

    Jul 8, 2014
    5
    0
    Dodgydave...I dont suppose you could identify the new sizes of the components i'd need in order to build the circuit you showed in your reply for the motor on my treadmill could you...?

    My Motor...
    2.25 HP Continuous Duty Motor
    Manufacturer: Johnson Intigrated Drives
    Model: JM01-013
    Volts: DC90V
    RPM: 3150
    AMPS: 20A (s6 25%)
    Insul.: F
    AMB.: 40*C
     
  5. Dodgydave

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 22, 2012
    4,979
    744
    Bridge reccy 35amp 1kv, ebay

    triac BTA25-600,you can get them from other electronic suppliers like digikey, farnells.
     
  6. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    10,522
    2,369
    What do you intend to use the motor for?
    Max.
     
  7. Newbie001

    Thread Starter New Member

    Jul 8, 2014
    5
    0
    What do you intend to use the motor for?

    I intend to build a NO FRILLS power supply for my treadmill by bypassing all of the current existing circuitry, circuit boards and safety features and then tie the new power supply directly into the Hot, Neutral and Ground wires on the motor that drives the treadmill.
     
  8. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    10,522
    2,369
    You intend using this to replace the, (probably) tach controlled motor controller on an active T.M.?? :eek:
    Max.:rolleyes:
     
  9. Newbie001

    Thread Starter New Member

    Jul 8, 2014
    5
    0
    So based on the schamitic and component information provided by Dodgydave anyone want to assist with the additional component sizes?
     
  10. Dodgydave

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 22, 2012
    4,979
    744
    you only need to change the triac to a Bta25-600, and the bridge rectifier as I posted earlier,these are the only current carrying components. As you already have a speed PCB, these components will be on the PCB,post photos of the circuit board and I can show them.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014
    Newbie001 likes this.
  11. inwo

    Well-Known Member

    Nov 7, 2013
    2,433
    315
    What is the bridge for?

    I've only seen that in scr circuits.
     
  12. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    10,522
    2,369
    The Triac on the AC side, the DC motor inside the bridge for full wave control.
    Max.
     
    Newbie001 and inwo like this.
  13. Newbie001

    Thread Starter New Member

    Jul 8, 2014
    5
    0
    OK...Just an update.

    I ordered all components yesterday plus a generic blank circuit board from radio shack for assembly.

    I'm sure I'll have tons of questions during the assembly phase but I greatly appreciate all the assistance so far!!
     
Loading...