Building A Fixed Object Laser engraving Machine

navino87

Joined Apr 21, 2012
Hello everyone, I don't know if its even possible to make such machine by oneself.. First let me introduce myself. I am a small time shoe manufacturer. We make leather shoes to some European company. As per their latest design, The brand name has to be engraved on the part of the leather shoe. When inquired about the cost of a laser machine, I came to know it costs a bomb. So, thought why not make one by myself. Though i don't have any knowledge about this, I am a kinda person who loves machine and believes in himself that he could really make one :rolleyes:..

Ok, Here is what i need. I need to engrave on a leather piece with a brand name. Say, I wanna engrave "navino87" in a piece of leather. Is it possible to make such machine? The point is i don't have any prior knowledge about this machine. And i am a newbie in building a machine. But i am sure, If the experts here guide me, I cam make one.

TY

-Navin

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Sure, it's doable. But it wouldn't be easy, even for someone who is already knowledgeable and capable.
What does a commercial unit cost?

spankey666

Joined Nov 30, 2011
for engraving leather, i would have thought a 40w laser would be more than sufficient. I'm in the process of building one, and the parts are readily available on ebay, although software choices, stepper motors etc can be a bit confusing.
Theres lots of cheap chinese machines on ebay, which seem to do the job, although there are a few companies that produce a DSP board to retrofit to these machines to make them more stable and flexible
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_nkw=laser+engraver&_sacat=0

Google diy laser cnc and there are umpteen forums on the subject , with useful advice on both hardware building and software.

navino87

Joined Apr 21, 2012