Build a DC-AC Inverter into a project

pcon2009

Joined Aug 5, 2012
I am interested in building, as a part of a larger project, a 12v DC to 120v AC inverter. I have been reading around on the internet and on this forum a bit and I think it is possible, but I want some confirmation and a bit of help before I go leaping into it.

First, the reason I want to build it and not just buy a ready-made one is that it will be a part of a larger project, built into a case with its own batteries. The larger project is actually to be used to briefly open pneumatic solenoid valves. I work in the special effects industry and want to build a controller that can fire our confetti cannons. This is typically is just done with mains power and a switch on a power strip. I want to have a controller that is capable of doing this on battery power so that local power is not needed, and also so that we have more "safety" than if someone bumps a switch and shoots the air cannons.

What kind of circuitry would I need in order to do something like this? I would like to use this battery, because it is something we stock for use with other equipment:

PS-1229:
http://www.power-sonic.com/images/powersonic/sla_batteries/ps_psg_series/12volt/PS-1229_11_Feb_21.pdf

I have looked around and this circuit seems to be the simplest solution:

C1, C2 68 uf, 25 V Tantalum Capacitor
R1, R2 10 Ohm, 5 Watt Resistor
R3, R4 180 Ohm, 1 Watt Resistor
D1, D2 HEP 154 Silicon Diode
Q1, Q2 2N3055 NPN Transistor (see "Notes")
T1 24V, Center Tapped Transformer
Misc. Wire, Case, Receptacle (for output)
Fuses, Heatsinks, etc.

(Found at: http://www.i4at.org/lib2/inverter.htm)