Brushless Motor Problem

ljkenny

Joined Oct 26, 2014
Can anyone tell me what might be going wrong with this circuit please?

I have created and verified the required 3 phase square wave from the Arduino, but the motor is just vibrating.

I've tried debugging with my oscilloscope, which I'm not an expert with, but to no avail.

Where would I place the probe to see if the correct signal is travelling through the motor windings?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Are you using a 3 phase signal or in BLDC mode where any two windings are powered at once?
Where is the motor from and any make/model?
Do you have a circuit?
Max.

ljkenny

Joined Oct 26, 2014
Are you using a 3 phase signal or in BLDC mode where any two windings are powered at once?
Where is the motor from and any make/model?
Do you have a circuit?
Max.
Thanks for your prompt reply Max.

I have tried both; one winding at a time and overlapping sequences.

It's a HDD motor that I extracted from an old Western Digital 20GB device.

I'm using this circuit:

So I'm a little worried that I'm using the wrong diodes or the incorrect transistors etc.

Would someone mind telling me how the diodes provide protection in this circuit too -- I'm struggling to work it out.

ljkenny

Joined Oct 26, 2014
There looks like many post out there for achieving this, I have never ran a HD motor but it appears to need three sequential pulses and is an Outrunner motor.
Here is a simple example but using a 74164 with a serial pulse in that may help in the trouble shooting.
http://letsmakerobots.com/content/howto-walz-hard-drive-spindle-motor
Max.
I'm not sure this helps. The circuitry is completely different and he's using a motor driver.

The signal he's producing is the same as mine -- I fear it's the components (choice or wiring) that might be at fault.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013