Brushless Motor control and speed controlling

KansaiRobot

Joined Jan 15, 2010
Hello everybody and thank you always for all the help.

I am starting a project on brushless motors. Now, I have worked in the past with brushed motors (or DC motors using H-bridges) and with steppers.
I have no experience with brushless motors so I am now researching. (If any of you have a link to a good tutorial , very welcomed)

My question is- and it can be totally ignorant sorry- is, suppose I am controlling the motor already and it is turning at some speed. How can I see at which speed it is turning? Do I need a sensor? What is a Hall IC sensor?

Also there is a schematic element I dont understand. See page 24 of
www.tsukasa-d.co.jp/en/data_download/english_catalogue_2014.pdf

in Motor Internal Connection Diagram you can see on pin 2,3 and 4 some element in the schematic . What is it??
brushless.jpg

Thanks a thousand for any help or advice.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
These are Hall effect sensors or equivalent, now a common method and more accurate is to include the 'Hall' tracks on an optical encoder and eliminate the discrete devices.
These are used for the commutation as per the PDF.
Max.

Attachments

KansaiRobot

Joined Jan 15, 2010
Thank you for your replies. I ve researched and brushless motor control seems so simple and so complicated. Simple programatically since i ve caught the concepts already. Complicated in its required hardware, drivers etc.

I think i am going to be using the following driver

TCP-S12. (See the link in next post)

My questions are:

are the pins of this driver 5v? Or 24 v? I dont want to burn anything :(

And, my original question, how to sense the speed of the motor? Originally i thought of getting the hall sensors input and calculate with a timer but first these hall inputs seem not to be provided by the driver and second it seems the driver has an encoder output