Books for intermediate learner

asulikeit

Joined May 1, 2012
Hey I have been learning electronics for a couple years now. I have the basics down well. Have designed some basic circuits. But I feel like my learning is now at a halt. The gap between beginner stuff and area specific stuff seems too huge. I don't know much to chose an area like embedded or signals. I just want to get a greater depth in my skills. Any suggestions what should I read or do?

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
The microelectronics book by Sedra & Smith is a good place to learn. It goes through the math and explains things in, what I feel is, a clear and concise manner. If you have not had a formal/rigorous experience with electronics this far, this book will help strengthen some of your understandings and equip you toward better understanding on a whole.

With that said, I would suggest you learn a HDL (Verilog or VHDL) and learn how to program a FPGA, then move on to microcontrollers (though others might disagree, I would argue that the experiences learned with the FPGA would better equip you for understanding microcontrollers). This is all assuming you've also had basics in digital logic, which, regardless, I'd recommend Digital Logic Design by Brown - it is a well laid out book that teaches digital logic as well as Verilog (I think a little VHDL too, but I don't take my word for it, I can't remember).

From here, you should have clear enough of an idea of what you want in order to decide what to pursue in depth.

asulikeit

Joined May 1, 2012