Books for a hobbyist

BamaFan

Joined Sep 2, 2016
It has been a long time since I studied electronics. I hold an Associate of Electronics Technology degree, 1966, but I am a little rusty. I am quite familiar with basic AC & DC theory, wiring and power, and test intruments, so i don't need a book for beginners. However, we didn't study much electromechanical theory back then as I remember. I want to learn how to design, breadboard, test, and implement circuits for controlling motors, valves, pumps, etc. for use in an automotive environment.

Can anyone recommend any good books for me.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
It has been a long time since I studied electronics. I hold an Associate of Electronics Technology degree, 1966, but I am a little rusty. I am quite familiar with basic AC & DC theory, wiring and power, and test intruments, so i don't need a book for beginners. However, we didn't study much electromechanical theory back then as I remember. I want to learn how to design, breadboard, test, and implement circuits for controlling motors, valves, pumps, etc. for use in an automotive environment.

There's probably an electronics for dummies, and one ............for the evil genius books. They're quite modern, but a bit superficial IMO.

You'd need to elaborate a bit on where you want to go with this - the range to choose from is staggering.

BamaFan

Joined Sep 2, 2016
I have never liked the books for dummies as they seem too simplistic. I am looking for a book with some sample projects, ranging from relatively simple to complex. I know and hopefully remember enough about semiconductor theory to figure out what is happening in a circuit. As an example, I have a motorhome in which I would like to make some modifications to control air valves, motors, and timers. Thanks.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014