boiler fan pcb repair ebmpapst rg130/0800

reapairman

Joined Dec 27, 2011
hello,

my gas combi condensing boiler stopped working recently due to a fan failure.

I took the fan apart and found worn bearings, which I've replaced and also an opened fuseable 10R 5 watt resistor inline from ACLIVE, along with 2 out of 5 shorted IRF830 mosfets.

i'm new to BLDC theory so doing my research on it at the moment, but wondering generally what kind of pwm signal is used to run these kind of motors. I was guessing a 5-12v, 100hz-10khz, 50% duty square wave for starters but hope someone can comment on this.

the motor itself has 4 stationary coils, with a plain magnetic rotor attached to the shaft, only 2 electrodes are used to power the coil windings.

the fan is supplied 6 wires (HS hall sensor, PWM, sig GND, AC LIVE, AC NEUTRAL, and chassis GND) with a 240v ac supply.

the datasheet http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/1648153.pdf states a 24v dc nominal dc voltage, 7200 rpm and 40watts rating.

I think the fault may have been caused by either the faulty bearings, or voltage spikes due to power outages. there is evidence of light arcing between LIVE and GND, with some carbon deposits between 2 tracks, where it is dusty and dirty. these boilers have no surge protection built in, which is an easy way to rack up profit on these parts (£200 approx for the fan and another £200 for the main system pcb if it's blown)

I'm in the middle of drawing the schematic, which is a little tricky as although the top side of the pcb is through hole and only 21 components complex, the bottom side is large scale surface mount and has a thin layer of been green epoxy making it difficult to read the ic codes. might be needing a microscope for that part. from the ic's i can read they are high side drivers.

are there any good tutorials out there for how BLDC motor controllers work ?