Blown PSU

Goldie HDI

Joined Jun 9, 2012
Hi Rifaa, I know this is a long dead thread, but I have a similar problem and was wondering if you could help me? I accidently connected 12v to the B- rail, and suspect a diode blown somewhere however there is no visibly blown component. I'm very embarrassed at having made this mistake. I would really appreciate your help. I have some technical knowledge, but not enough to nail this problem down. I have followed this thread all the way through with my dmm and found one or two differences in my readings, but I don't know what to do with this information, I really hope you can help.

ps my wife is shouting at me for wasting our money on a psu and then blowing it up, if I fix it she might forgive me

Goldie HDI

Joined Jun 9, 2012
Hi, thank you for the quick responses, I used the original thread because I didn't want to pollute the forum with multiple threads on similar topics, but I must have been mistaken, so thank you for moving it.

Hi Kubeek

F1:- is fine (0 ohms)

D1:- I'm not sure what to look for when testing a diode, I've set my dmm to diode, I get Overload in reverse and 0.15V in forward, is that ok?

Thank you for your help

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
D1:- I'm not sure what to look for when testing a diode, I've set my dmm to diode, I get Overload in reverse and 0.15V in forward, is that ok?
Yes that is what I would expect for a diode.

What is that red nasty looking thing in the top left?
Can you make some more pictures so that the names are more visible, especially the left and right side?
What are the names of the three terminals on the left? it seems to me that b- is not connected to anything, but i may be wrong.

Did you try the psu after the accident?

Goldie HDI

Joined Jun 9, 2012