Blinking LEDs without suspending main function in PIC

jwilk13

Joined Jun 15, 2011
Hi all,

My self-taught knowledge of PICs has left me wondering about something I've just encountered. I have a PIC reading an analog voltage from 0-5V. This voltage determines the output duty cycle of a PWM waveform, but it also determines the flash rate of LEDs connected through a resistor to the MCU.

What I'm wondering is this: How do I do both "at the same time"? I know that's not entirely possible, but let's consider an example.

Say I wanted to flash one LED once per second if the voltage at the ADC goes above 1 VDC. As the voltage increases, I want to increase the PWM duty cycle, but if I'm using delays to flash the LED, the sampling rate of my ADC goes way down, right? How would I go about accomplishing both objectives?

As usual, I'm not looking for code, I can do that myself. I just need a friendly push in the right direction :)

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
The rate you sample the A2D at and the flash rate are not related unless you make it that way.

How I would set this up would be governed by how fast I need the circuit to update. How fast should the PWM vary with the voltage? The last time I did this the lowest I could get my PWM to run was some 200Hz, which works fine with the LED and helps with the "flicker" issue. Sampling the A2D any faster then that would be to no use, you would not see it. 1Hz would appear to be "laggy" (the pot turns faster then the output changes), 10 or 20 Hz may work fine, 30Hz should appear instantaneous and isn't a huge computational burden.

That sets the sample rate, and it would probably be simplest if you have a timer interrupt running to set some base time to either trigger an A2D reading or start or stop a blink.

And of course to blink a PWM controlled LED you just set the PWM period to the intensity period for ON, or to zero for OFF.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
It's a lot of effort to employ PWM just to blink a LED.