Bistable Memory Elements

mghg13

Joined Jul 17, 2013
Hello, I am a student in electronics and I need some info for an homework on digital electronics

Can anyone tell me what is meant by 'bistable memory elements' ?

What is it made up of? I mean, from what basic digital electronic components is it made. How is it used in digital systems? Some examples where it is used??

And what is meant by the term 'bistable' ? Are not everything in digital electronics 'bistable' (since we can have only 0 or 1)???

Are there memory elements that are not 'bistable'?

I just need some general info about these things so that I know on which topics should I focus.

Thanks

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Bistable refers to a device with two (bi-) stable states. This is a flip-flop.
Monostable refers to a device with one stable state. This is also called a One-Shot.
Astable refers to a device with no stable states. For a binary device it oscillates back and forth between 0 and 1.

mghg13

Joined Jul 17, 2013
Bistable refers to a device with two (bi-) stable states. This is a flip-flop.
Monostable refers to a device with one stable state. This is also called a One-Shot.
Astable refers to a device with no stable states. For a binary device it oscillates back and forth between 0 and 1.
you mean to say that all the flip flops (JK, T, D) are the bistable memory elements?

Austin Clark

Joined Dec 28, 2011
And what about memory elements that are not bistable?
I don't think there is such a thing. Unless, perhaps, you count DRAM, which must be periodically "refreshed" to maintain its memory. This is close to a monostable, but monostables I've seen can only be re-triggered after they've already decayed into their default state.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012