Bipolar Power Rectifier

CurlsOnKeys

Joined Jan 3, 2015
Hi all,

I've just started an electronic course in evening school and I'm studying a schematic of an old Moog synthesizer. I've got a question about the power rectification as attached in the image. As you can see, we go from 24VAC to +12V and -12V DC (necessary since the synth uses a lot of opamps). As I understand it, this is called "bipolar rectification", since you "rectify" AC voltage not to a single postive DC voltage, but to a positive and negative (hence "bipolar") voltage, correct?

Now, when I google "bipolar rectifier", most example circuits I find consist of a diode bridge (like for example the circuit in figure 8 (bottom) of this page: http://www.bristolwatch.com/ele/power_supplies.htm).

So the question is: are there any "advantages" or reasons why Robert Moog chose only two diodes, while "classic" bipolar rectifiers use a diode bridge? Cost effective? As I understand it (but correct me if I'm wrong), your capacitors have to be larger when you use only two diodes and the cost of two larger elco's is higher than using two extra diodes, no?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Senne
Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 11.50.21.png

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Your figure produces half-wave rectification at C37 and C38, meaning they have to be twice the capacitance (physically bigger, more expensive) than would be required with full-wave rectification to produce enough filtering. The ripple is at the line frequency 50/60Hz. Only two wires need run from the transformer to the box.