Big problem with the boss.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by electr, Oct 1, 2009.

1. electr

Thread Starter Active Member

May 23, 2009
    I'm an EE student and work in a small company, which mainly hires freelancers overseas, so here it's just me and my boss in the office.​

The problem is that he always comes down on me, and barely appreciates my job.
    Mostly, You can say that when I do a good job, he doesn’t say a thing after looking at it, but when I forget something or do something wrong, he over-mentions it to me.​

I find it very hard to find another job since:
    1. I'm in this company from the very beginning of its foundation and designed, tested and programmed our products from scratch almost by myself.
    2. Its not a good period to switch jobs since not only that its hard finding a job these days, you can find yourself fired after a few months due to budget cuts.​

I can't change my boss (since he's the boss), so as I see it, there are two options for me:
    1. Swallow whatever he brings on you.
    2. Don’t let him step on you.​

I tried option #1 for several months, and it was very hard and made me being less fruitful and an unpleasant person to be around (which irritated my boss).​

I tried option #2 for the last weeks and teased him back every time he came down on me.
    As part of trying option #2 (which is why I'm writing to you now), I told my boss that I'm going early today (at 4:30 PM) since I have a complement class in the evening, and he was really disappointed in me (he gave me a lecture), and later this evening told me a new student joins us next week (not to replace me, but because I have less time to spend at work, at least that’s the official reason), and I'll need to teach him everything.​

After reading all this "background" (really thank you for your time), how should I behave around my boss?​

Is it possible to follow option 1?