Best way to control speed of 3V dc motor

David St. Onge

Joined Jan 2, 2015
Hello,

Newbie here. Need opinions on the best way to control the speed of a 3V dc motor. I have tried a couple of pots but the control is to condensed...in other words all the control is happening within a quarter turn. The range of RPMs I am looking for is 15-40, so pretty slow. The motor I have is Radio Shack's # 2730223

This unit looks to do exactly what I want but it looks like a servo in the beginning of the video. Should I go that route? Or do I keep the motor I have and use gears to knock down the RPMs? Pretty confused.

In the end, I'd like this to be battery powered and fit in a small project box.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The motor is around 2700rpm/volt so if looking for 15-40 rpm with that motor you are probably going to need another method or a different motor or even gearing?
The video appears to be using a RC servo, but only two leads instead of the customary 3 for RC PWM but usual for the linear actuator?

Max.

Last edited:

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Max - I don't think that's a servo; I think it's a geared motor. The video identifies it as a micro gear motor (at the beginning, they list the part numbers)

Detail about the device is here

David St. Onge

Joined Jan 2, 2015
Max - I don't think that's a servo; I think it's a geared motor. The video identifies it as a micro gear motor (at the beginning, they list the part numbers)

Detail about the device is here
Probably identical to a RC servo without the feedback etc maybe?

Max.
I bought a servo from Radio Shack but didnt know how to mod it for full rotation. I took it back but have found a few video with mods on how to do this. Should I go this route?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Hello,