Best way to control speed of 3V dc motor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by David St. Onge, Jan 2, 2015.

1. David St. Onge

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 2, 2015
    Hello,

Newbie here. Need opinions on the best way to control the speed of a 3V dc motor. I have tried a couple of pots but the control is to condensed...in other words all the control is happening within a quarter turn. The range of RPMs I am looking for is 15-40, so pretty slow. The motor I have is Radio Shack's # 2730223

This unit looks to do exactly what I want but it looks like a servo in the beginning of the video. Should I go that route? Or do I keep the motor I have and use gears to knock down the RPMs? Pretty confused.

In the end, I'd like this to be battery powered and fit in a small project box.

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    Your pot is too high in resistance. You need one that is likely no more than 100Ω to 500Ω full resistance.

David St. Onge likes this.
  3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    The motor is around 2700rpm/volt so if looking for 15-40 rpm with that motor you are probably going to need another method or a different motor or even gearing?
    The video appears to be using a RC servo, but only two leads instead of the customary 3 for RC PWM but usual for the linear actuator?

Max.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  4. djsfantasi

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    Max - I don't think that's a servo; I think it's a geared motor. The video identifies it as a micro gear motor (at the beginning, they list the part numbers)

Detail about the device is here

5. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Probably identical to a RC servo without the feedback etc maybe?
    [​IMG]

Max.

6. David St. Onge

Jan 2, 2015
    I bought a servo from Radio Shack but didnt know how to mod it for full rotation. I took it back but have found a few video with mods on how to do this. Should I go this route?

7. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012