Best microcontroller for timekeeping

Manmeet Singh

Joined May 21, 2008
Hello all,

My application is to mimic the functionality of a digital power bar to activate a stepper motor, a servo and a pc fan. So what I need to be able todo is keep track of time and change the time in which my outputs should turn on (they all will turn on at the same time). What would you all recommend is the best way to get this done? I have some experience with the pic24 but wouldnt mind using the arduino to gain knowledge of another type of microcontroller.

From what I have researched arduino has a built in time library so it looks tempting at the moment I couldnt find something similar for PICs. (http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/Time )

Thanks

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Note that the Arduino application that you mentioned requires that the Arduino be connected to the Internet to get its time from NIST.

hgmjr

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
What is the application for?

A Dallas RTC, PIC, LCD display (used to adjust time/date), and a couple buttons will keep good time, as long as the temperature isn't too severe.

maxpower097

Joined Feb 20, 2009
Which PIC16 has an RTCC in hardware?
None. lol I'm working on a very time sensitive project right now and have worried about the internal RTCC on the pic24. No reason why but for the money I'm planning on throwing in a external Dallas or other RTC just to validate the time. I believe you can pull the time off of the radio(audio) too. So that may even be a 3 layer of safety.

Manmeet Singh

Joined May 21, 2008
@ hgmjr

I did not realize that but that makes alot more sense since I had no clue how it could keep track of time on its own.
@ thatoneguy
The application is for a automatic fish feeder ( I know its overkill and cheaper to just buy one) but I wanted to get some experience making stuff myself.

So what if I was to use a Dallas RTC, an arduino and an LCD? Dallas RTCs work with arduinos right?

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008