Benefits of industrial vendor training (specifically Rockwell)

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I am a maintenance technician. I was previously a drilling systems installation & commissioning technician on oil rigs. I aspire to be an engineering technician (one day an engineer if I can ever find time to go to college)

My company has agreed to send me through Rockwell's ControlLogix Programmer Certificate Program.

I am wondering how good this looks on a resume.

Also, after that training, there are several other vendors who offer training which I wish to attend (Siemens, Omron, Profibus, etc.)

I don't have a college degree, so I need all the help I can get - what are the big shots out there looking for on a resume (in terms of training certs) - if they even care about that at all?

loosewire

Joined Apr 25, 2008
You are working and naming some great companies. I would say that a start.
If they start drilling again and get better work,may be college courses on Internet
if you are on a floating rig.You will have time to study and nothing to bother you.
Did you watch the hearings,supervising and every detail will be Important from now on.
The simple questions they asked ,needed great detailed answers so supervisor work
will be very Important In the future.

Last edited:

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I am a maintenance technician.
I should have specified; I am not working on rigs anymore. I am working in a production plant. Different machines, same controls. Probably not going back to the oil field

You are working and naming some great companies. I would say that a start.
If they start drilling again and get better work,may be college courses on Internet
if you are on a floating rig.You will have time to study and nothing to bother you.
Did you watch the hearings,supervising and every detail will be Important from now on.
The simple questions they asked ,needed great detailed answers so supervisor work
will be very Important In the future.