Benchtop Power Supply - Help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by demonGeek, Feb 27, 2009.

1. demonGeek

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 27, 2009
    I'm a bit embarrassed about this but I just bought a benchtop power supply and I can't figure out how it works.

I should explain that I'm new to electronics and I've never used a benchtop power supply before. The instructions appear to have been translated into English and are somewhat less than clear.

All I want to do is test that the power supply is working. I have attached a multimeter and adjusted the DC voltage and the meter correctly reflects the voltage as expected but when I try to adjust the current, nothing happens. The power supply digital meter remains at 0A as does the multimeter.

The power supply is here: http://www.abra-electronics.com/products/catalog/150-Watt-Benchtop-Power-Supply-p-5266.html and I have attached a PDF of the instruction manual to this post.

Any help would be appreciated.

- Adam

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    Actually you don't adjust the current though a load. The load draws as much current it needs according to its impedance and voltage applied. The only thing the current function makes is to limit the current through the load to a safe value (the value you set it).

Also, you can use it as a current source but you won't be able to adjust the output voltage since it depends on the load.

Read the manual carefully to see how it works.

3. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

Can you make a sharp picture of the front of the power supply ?
    This will make the reading of the text on the front more easy.
    (on the picture on the website and in the manual the text is unreadable).

Greetings,
    Bertus

4. demonGeek

Feb 27, 2009
    Hi Bertus,

The image is attached.

- Adam

• PSU.jpg
      PSU.jpg
      File size:
      182 KB
      Views:
  5. mik3

Feb 4, 2008