[Beginner]Which direction electricity follows in a breadboard?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by John Fraskos, Mar 3, 2015.

1. John Fraskos

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Hi all

I'm a complete beginner who is waiting his first arduino kit to arrive via mail. Meanwhile, I have started learning and experimenting with how circuits work. I 've no prior experience in electronics whatsoever, so please excuse my probably stupid question and potentially wrong terminology.

So, here is what I am struggling to understand:

I am a bit confused on which direction the electricity flows in a circuit which is powered by a 9V battery. I have created a simulated circuit on a breadboard, to light up a led. You can find my breadboard here:http://123d.circuits.io/circuits/622863-the-unnamed-circuit and run a simulation.

Here is a screenshot as well:

[​IMG]

So, from what I understand, the electricity flows from the Battery's positive terminal to the negative. This means that at the top breadboard, the electricity passes from the resistor at first, then from the led, and then goes to the ground. So far so good.

My question arises at the second breadboard, at the bottom. Here the electricity passes first from the led, and then from the resistor, and finally to the ground. So, why does the led lights up normally and does not explode, since the resistor is placed AFTER it and not BEFORE it?

I am missing something quite fundamental here, and so far, the online reading I've done does not seem to help. Any help would be quite appreciated!

Cheers!
    John

2. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    In the physical world, electrons (which is what makes electricity) move from the negative terminal to the positive. Analyzing circuits with this approach is called 'electron current'.