Beginner tutorials/Projects..

buddyboy

Joined Aug 5, 2016
Dear all,

I have an ATmega328p as my microcontroller of choice. I am not a newbie when it comes to electronics but my embedded knowledge is not great at all. But, the only thing I have done so far is blink an LED, in GCC C programming language within Atmel Studio 7.

I cannot find any beginner tutorials or projects that progress on from this? I have done a lot of reading around and stuff, but I am kinda stuck on what the next step should be.. :S What fundamentals should I be looking at? what documentation or registers should I be focusing on? :S Should I follow the basic Arduino examples and try to do that in C? what? Oww, any help would be handy..

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
If you are serious about learning to program as a skill, as opposed to merely using a controller to make your project work, stick with C and/or assembly.

The book below got me started quickly and I recommend it. Of course having a friend who is a C programmer helped a lot too. The book contains several projects and demonstrations as well as explaining some of how C works.

https://www.amazon.com/Programming-...rds=C+programming+for+microcontrollers+pardue

vead

Joined Nov 24, 2011
Dear all,

I have an ATmega328p as my microcontroller of choice. I am not a newbie when it comes to electronics but my embedded knowledge is not great at all. But, the only thing I have done so far is blink an LED, in GCC C programming language within Atmel Studio 7.

I cannot find any beginner tutorials or projects that progress on from this? I have done a lot of reading around and stuff, but I am kinda stuck on what the next ..