Beginner Project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Manmeet Singh, May 26, 2009.

1. Manmeet Singh

Thread Starter Active Member

May 21, 2008
    Hey guys I wanted to make an automatic feeder for an aquarium of mine ive got the logic down but not exactly sure how to implement it on the elctronics side of things. Idea is that I want to make a device that plugs into a power timer which turns on once a day, this will then activate a DC motor or servo (servos can rotate 360 degrees right?) so that a disc rotates a certain amount (not spinning) rotates a fixed distance and then stops and that is all until the next day. It sounds extremely simple compared to all these intense projects everyone has but gotta start somewhere! Im in second year computer engineering and have dealt with some electronics but application wise my experience is very limited!

I have taken a course on microcontrollers but it mostely taught us about the nitty gritty aspects and we didnt really have to many labs that were to informative. So im thinking that I use some sort of programmable device (using a microcontroller would be overkill for something this simple right?) that checks the input at a certain port which is the AC power supply and once its gone high then it sends a PWM signal to the servo or motor to rotate the desired distance and then ends the program.

Please advise
    Thanks!

2. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    You could put a little switch (like a microswitch) and a bump/notch on the disk that operates the switch.

When you get the voltage pulse from the timer, the disk starts to turn with a slow cheap DC gearmotor, and keeps turning by itself until the notch comes around once again and the switch goes open circuit again. I've seen exactly the same thing done in some electric toys, it should be reliable enough for a fish feeder?

3. Manmeet Singh

May 21, 2008