Beginner PIC tachometer project

Howesy

Joined Mar 28, 2008
Hi,

I'm a beginner in electronics and have started playing around with PIC's. I'd like to start a project to complement my motorcycling hobby. I'd like to monitor the engine speed of my bike and record the peak rpm and average.

The tacho on my bike is controlled from the ecu which outputs a 10.5v square wave. My understanding is that this is at too high a voltage to be connected directly to a PIC which operates at 5v max.

Can anyhow explain the electronics I'd need between the ecu output and the PIC (a diagram would help!).

FYI. My bike is a Honda CBR1000RR and the PIC I'm using is a PIC18F4520.

Regards.

Søren

Joined Sep 2, 2006
Hi,

The tacho on my bike is controlled from the ecu which outputs a 10.5v square wave. My understanding is that this is at too high a voltage to be connected directly to a PIC which operates at 5v max.

Can anyhow explain the electronics I'd need between the ecu output and the PIC (a diagram would help!).
From the tacho output to the PIC I/O put a resistor of around 10k to 50k and put a zener diode (Vz = 4.7V to 4.9V) between the same PIC pin and ground (V_ss on the PIC) anode towards the PIC pin.

A diagram seems a bit overkill for 2 simple 2-terminal components ;)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
A 10k resistor will allow just 1.05mA of current through itself with a 10.5v signal. That actually might be close to the maximum resistance limit for this application. I don't know how much current the PIC needs to see as an input signal, and in particular what the input capacitance is, which should be in the PIC's datasheet.

At low RPM's, the input capacitance will have a negligble impact, but at high RPM the RC time constant may be cause for concern. The Zener diode itself has some capacitance, which must also be taken into account.