Beginner needs help with transistors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jhsmith87, Oct 4, 2012.

1. jhsmith87

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 4, 2012
    hi every one, first off this is my first post here. i am new to electronics, but very interested. i am trying to learn about it as much as possible, at a hands on type approach. so after i seen it, i really wanted to build a bedini motor. the only problem is the circuit.
    if any one is familiar with it, you will know this but it needs a very fast switching transistor. i am very far from any where that sells electronics, so i use scrap parts, (witch i have a lot of) i got a lot from a few older computers (2005).
    any way i was looking up the numbers on these transistors, and found one that is called a schottky rectifier if i am correct. it is marked wc2401. i have read that it is fast switching. but the name rectifier is throwing me off.
    so can some one please explain to me more about this thing, and if i could use it in the bedini motor.
    also in the computer i seen a 45N03L transistor and was wondering what that was used for.
    and if some one knows about the bedini motor any info you could give me would be helpful.

P.S. i forgot i have a reed switch, but it kinda confuses me. as it has 4 pins, 3 on one side and 1 on the other side. i'd rather not use the reed switch on the bedini but would still like to know how to hook it up, since it has 4 pins, i know basically how it works just not how to hook it up.
    sorry for the long post.
    thanks alot for any help.

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Sorry, we generally don't support the design of perpetual motion (free energy) schemes on this forum. They are a waste of time and energy (both yours and ours). If you insist on pursuing that, you need to find a Free Energy Forum.