Beginner microcontroller and FPGA kits

lamanna

Joined May 11, 2013
Hi all,
Recently I discovered an awesome lecture/course on embedded system while procrastinating on youtube (UNC- Charlotte ECGR 4101/5101 Embedded Systems if anyone is interested). I found it interesting because I'm a software developer who always wished he was an electronics engineer. Instead of taking the approach of learning circuitry, I thought I'd start a level or two down from where I'm at now with my computer knowledge and jump into microcontrollers. The course I've been following uses the Renasas RX63N which has loads of features and lots of stuff built onto the board so you can have some fun without buying peripherals. It can be had (in Australia) for $86.

I started looking around for alternatives though to see if there was something better out there. Unfortunately I don't know too much about this area so it's been hard for me to figure out what would be beneficial to me and what wouldn't. I own an Arduino but I think it's a bit too high level and I'm not really learning much from it. I considered a Raspberry Pi but I think it's a bit over kill for most of the things I want to do.

My main goal is to learn something new and interesting. I want a separate microcontroller development board and a separate FPGA development board and be able to connect peripherals to them and make them do something. There's no real world application for them at this point in time... I just want to know how to use them and maybe from that I might get ideas on how best to utilize them if I need to make something in the future. I basically want exposure to different technologies and have an understanding on how they work.... their limitation and advantages, etc.