Beginner 555 Timer

TexAvery

Joined Oct 7, 2009
Hi, This is my first post. I am a neon artist and in need of a 555 timer circuit to be added to my existing project.My problem is the sensor only turns on the motor for 1 second then resets.
Apparently I need to add a timer, I would want about 1~3 min or so with some adjustment As you can tell I do not know much about electronics, just the very basics. Anyway, I can pay for a schematic, I can get the parts myself. Just let me know if your interested. This is what I have so far.

Thanks Tim Walker

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
No money is needed. What is your sensor? We can design around that.

My article, 555 Monostable shows the basics. We can add to that.

You'll find you've entered a den of problem solvers here, money isn't an issue, though I doubt if anyone is adverse to it. :)

Also, what is the voltage/current of the motor, and what kind of load is it pushing?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
OK, so what is the power supply your using for the sensor? We also need more information on the motor, as in current and voltage. The reason I was asking for how big a load it is turning is that determines surge amps.

You planning on soldering this together?

I gotta say, this one is pretty easy as far as it goes.

Couple of points, I think that MOSFET will need more voltage (I'm surprised it works at all), can you use a 12VDC power supply? We can use a simple regulator circuit for the sensor. I could just thow a simple version out and see if it works, if not we'll modify it for more voltage.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008