Begineer to PIC 16F877A

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by wilsonz91, Jun 9, 2011.

1. wilsonz91

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 9, 2011
    Hi, i'm new to PIC, hope you can help me here. I'm using a 16F877A microchip

1) I'm using mikroC, and my program starts as follow:
    #include <pic.h>

#define pb1 RA0

void main()
    {
    }

Problem i'm having is when i build, the error comes out saying "cannot open include file pic.h. I downloaded a header file 16F877A.h and pasted it in Mikroelectrica>include, then I replace the program header with 16F877A.h but it comes out a very long error.
    What am I suppose to do?

2) I don't understand the following code I saw from a sample:
    PORTA = 0b000000;
    Is it the same as PORTA = 0;

3) How does using a 8Mhz or a 20Mhz oscillator affects the PIC?

4) I read from a training book that switches and LED should be connected to a resistor or else it would short, is that true? cause i was told that 16F877A has internal resistors.

Thank you for helping.

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
  3. RiJoRI

Aug 15, 2007
    #2 -- Yes, they are the same. The reason to use the 0b00000000 form is to make it easier to see which bits are being set/cleared. E.g., with 0b10111111 it is easier to see bit 6 is being cleared. With 0xBF you would need to convert to binary anyway. (Some ancient computers only had decimal representation. What does "OUT 2,191" do???)

#3 -- Assuming your PIC can handle the 20MHz*, the code will run faster, as will all the timers. We just went through this at work using a Nat Semi HPC chip. We had to double the clock speed to get the code to run faster. The code base is 20+ years old, and was loaded with "magic numbers"! ( "LD T1,#0FED") Arrrgh!

--Rich

* I'm of the 3.456 MHz era. 8 MHz still feels very fast to me!

wilsonz91 likes this.
  4. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011