Battery to run Electric Sofa Recliner

ahchah08

Joined Nov 13, 2008
Hello all,

I have a project to work on. I have three electric recliners that have to be plugged into a wall outlet to work. But the sofas are in the middle of the room and it's a bit annoying having the wire running to the wall. I'm thinking about installing a battery system, but don't know how exactly.

The motor say it's intermittent. 24V and 3A.

I am thinking about using maybe a 12v car battery with an inverter. Then plugging in the power cable into the inverter. What type of inverter should I get and I guess I would need a sealed battery of some sort. Does anyone know how much amp-hours I would need for the battery?

Thanks. I'm a bit new to this

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
A battery produces DC. Mains electricity is AC and can feed a transformer to reduce its voltage to 24VAC. A rectifier can convert AC to DC.

Inverters have an AC output (120V or 240V) but nobody makes a 24VAC inverter.

We don't know if the motor is AC or DC.

DMahalko

Joined Oct 5, 2008
An inverter generally converts DC to 120v/240v AC. If the motor only needs 24v, then you can probably power it directly at 24v without an inverter.

If the drive motor is DC 24v then you don't need anything more than a few batteries wired in series, connecting to the power wires into the chair power input in place of the wall-wart or power-brick power supply.

Bigger batteries will last longer with more life.

In general you probably don't want lead-acid cells, because if they sit discharged a long time, then the plates become permanently damaged.

In this application, discharge tolerance is needed because you won't recharge until the batteries are almost dead and the recliner motor is running really slow. This generally points to something like lithium-ion cells or perhaps Nickel-Metal-Hydride.