battery question

grumm

Joined Apr 28, 2011
Hello, I'm a beginner. My question is - when I tested several 'dead' 3 volt batteries with a multimeter the reading is 3 volts, so how come they're 'dead'?
Thanks for any info,
Gerard

wmodavis

Joined Oct 23, 2010
When you test a battery by simply measuring its terminal voltage using a high impedance voltmeter it puts virtually no load on the battery. That is the voltmeter draws negligible current from the battery. Since the function of a battery is to supply current at some voltage a voltmeter only measures part of what it is suppose to do. So to really test a battery you need to measure the voltage while it is connected to a load drawing some realistic current. If the voltage is OK when it is supplying current to a load it is OK. Otherwise you will see the voltage drop down considerably from its specified voltage if you connect a load resistor across the battery terminals while testing the voltage.

grumm

Joined Apr 28, 2011
Excellent, wmodavis, I can understand that. So, I have many old 3v coin cells, 1.5v AAAs, then it seems I should be able to use them for something that doesn't draw much current, maybe LEDs? I guess I'd need to find out how much current the batteries can supply - what's a good way to measure that?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Try measuring the current with about 360 Ohms resistance in series with a milliammeter.
A good 1.5v alkaline battery would measure around 4.0-4.2mA, NiCD around 3.8mA.

If your batteries are exhausted, you will hardly measure anything.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
A good place to look is the manufacturer's data sheet. You can also read about using a DC load to test a battery here (also check the PDF given at the end of the document), but most hobbyists won't have a DC load, as they are expensive instruments (but handy when you need to do such things). You can build a suitable load yourself from a MOSFET, but it's a bit of a complicated project for a beginner.