Battery monitor/ comparator circuit

jimmychacha

Joined Dec 1, 2010
Good morning, I am an electronics student and sustainable energy enthusiast. I have a small PV array w/battery backup installed in my home. To fully utilize the battery power I want to connect a small heating element, approx 1.5 amp load, that will run when the battery voltage is around 12.3 volts or greater, and turn off when the voltage drops to 11.5. I'm thinking of using an op amp as a comparator, Schmitt trigger to establish the UTP and LTP, and either a zener diode or voltage reg to establish the reference 12v. I'm finding my textbook a bit confusing because it only gives examples of such circuits with AC signals. Can someone help with this design- setting ref, UTP & LTP, choosing an op amp? Thanks

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I think your heater could easily be a light bulb unless you already have something in mind. A power resistor would also work, but it would need to be rated for >20 watts. Not a problem, but they're not just laying around.

As for the rest, I think you could get by with nothing more than a comparator driving a MOSFET to turn the load on or off. Use a zener at some reference voltage well below the supply, for instance 5v. Use a pair of resistors to divide the supply voltage so that at "hi", it's above the reference and at "low", it's below. Put the reference and the divided supply voltage to the two inputs of the comparator, with the reference at the inverting input. Pull up the output of the comparator with a ~3K resistor and connect that output to the gate of the MOSFET. Connect the other MOSFET pins Source to ground, and Drain to one terminal of the load. The other load terminal connects to battery positive.