Battery Charger (understanding it)

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by AndrewCE, Jun 28, 2009.

1. AndrewCE

Thread Starter Member

Jun 27, 2009
    I found this schematic for a battery charger, and i'm wondering how exactly it works (i'm a noob to transistors and zener diodes). The site has a pretty good explaination, but I still have some questions.

here is the page, the charger is at the bottom. http://www.owlnet.rice.edu/~elec201/Book/batteries.html

First of all, is this the correct equivalent 9V circuit? [​IMG]
    would I have to change resistor values?

Doesn't the LED require a current-limiting resistor? It seems like the LED would be destroyed. Or does one of the 16R act as that?

Can someone explain each operating mode (what exactly it's doing when the battery is below 1.7v, between 1.7 and 9, and over 9)? The site explains it but i don't get a good idea of where current is going within the transistor(transistor noob).

This would be a big help, so thanks in advance!

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    The LED is probably an end-of-charge indicator. Yep - I just look at the site, and that is what it is. They explain pretty well how things work. The 16 ohm resistor is the limiter, plus the fact that the zener soaks up 10 volts. The LED only sees 1.7 volts before it conducts.

Current goes in the emitter and out the collector. The current in the base determines conduction. That is dependent on the voltage between the two resistors, which diminsihes as the battery charges.

Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  3. Audioguru

Dec 20, 2007
    You are looking at an old 12 years old circuit for charging an old toxic Ni-Cad battery.
    A modern Ni-MH battery has much more capacity and is charged with a higher current then has a very low or no trickle charge current.

4. AndrewCE

Thread Starter Member

Jun 27, 2009