Battery Charger/ Desulfator Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

caperren

Joined Apr 30, 2011
I will start this by letting you know that I have almost no experience working with AC projects except for enough to know that I needed to take extra safety precautions when working with it. I have a bunch of sulfated lead acid batteries that I wanted to bring back to a usable state. I eventually found a very simple DIY desulfation circuit that would require one to check back on the battery to make sure it didn't get too hot and did not overcharge. I was fine with this and decided to build one. Here is the link to the project I modified....

<SNIP>

It is a fairly simple circuit and so I ordered a few run capacitors, a 600v 50amp bridge rectifier, some switches, and some extra random parts from eBay. One of the capacitors is a dual run one, which I have never used before. Please refer to my attached circuit diagram for the rest of this post and please note that I have separated the dual post capacitor into two 24mfd independent capacitors as I could not find a dual post one in TinyCAD. I redesigned the circuit from above to allow for me to individually select which capacitors were connected at any given time so I could change charging rates. I also removed the volt and amp meter leads and switch as I will be changing the project later to a more sophisticated design that will monitor those using it's own circuits. I think my mistake was trying to use both parts of the dual post capacitor on the same circuit. After turning it on, the lights in my garage dimmed, the output to the battery was 170volts (which I expected), and I was drawing somewhere between ten and twenty amps (my 20amp circuit breaker did not trip and my 10 amp ammeter peaked). With only one post of the capacitor selected, the voltage and amps would drop to normal levels within seconds of turning it on, about a 1 amp charging rate (I don't remember how many volts). Before and while it was dropping, i