Battery charger cutoff device

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by beaver07, Jun 19, 2013.

1. beaver07

Thread Starter New Member

May 11, 2011
    I’m a novice, so please bear with my ignorance. I want to build a device that will sense when a rechargeable battery is fully charged and then stop charging it. The charger that I have is the common type small 110 volt transformer which plugs directly to the device to be charged. I have several items in need of such a device , and the batteries range in output voltages from 1.5 to 19 VDC.

Many years ago I built (but not designed) some electronic stuff using tubes, but, although I understand resistors and capacitors, I am not knowledgeable with regard to solid state circuitry.

2. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Your better off buying a dedicated charger for the rechargeable battery type, as there are several types of rechargeable batteries.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Let me push a bit harder on that. There are several recent types of batteries that are VERY picky about their charging methods. You can't do a universal charger any more. You are going to have to decide whether to limit the types of batteries you wish to maintain and/or build several different charger designs, many of them based on an integrated chip that was designed for THAT battery type.

4. beaver07

May 11, 2011
    Maybe I misstated my question. I don't need to build a charger, I only need something that goes between the charger and the device being charged. I'm hoping that that "something" will sense when the battery is fully charged and then stop the charge.

5. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Yes that is exactly what chargers do, stop when its full

6. beaver07

May 11, 2011