Battery backup Indicator Circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Renardak, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Renardak

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 29, 2013
    Hey Guys,

New to the forums but I've browsed them a few times and found some useful tips for sure. I also tried to do a search for similar problems I'm having with mine but no real avail.

I'm trying to build a Indicator circuit with Green, Yellow and Red LED's to signify the battery life. Where when one comes on the others are off.

Green 9V - 8.5 V
    Yellow 8.4 V - 7.9-7.5 V
    Red from 7.5 to 0V or as far as it stays lit.

I've tried multiple ways to do this both using BJT's, relays etc. I'm trying to do it using Comparitors as it seems like the simpilest way but I can't get the LED's to trigger at a threshold and having a hard time figuring out whats wrong. I'm new to electronics just in my second year engineering program so any guidance as to where to go or some help would be greatly appreciated.

P.s I know some of the values are messed up on the resistor I was just trying anything at this point.

[img=http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/715/schematics.jpg]

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Ok, you've got the right idea, except your inputs to the comparators are not quite right.

A basic analog comparator has two inputs. You will be comparing the voltage levels of the two inputs.
    When the +ve input level falls below the -ve input level, the LED will be turned on.

For a basic analog comparator circuit, you will connect one input (-ve) to a reference voltage, let's say for example 4V. The other input (+ve) will be connected to the output of a voltage divider that is powered from your battery voltage. Calculate the proper resistances to give you the desired trip voltage.

Getting the LED to turn off when the next LED is on is a more difficult problem. You will need logic gates to do that.

3. Renardak

Jan 29, 2013