Bat Monitoring Project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by TheReremouse, Aug 11, 2013.

1. TheReremouse

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 11, 2013
    Hi there, I hope that you can help me out with some advice - this is a bit of a strange request, and I'm sure its simple (ish) but I'm not a techie by any means.

I work for the Bat Conservation Trust as a bat carer, and I am currently running a brand new 'flight cage', which is basically an aviary for bats where they can get ready for release back into the wild.

I currently have 11 bats in the cage, and I need to get an idea of how many of the bats are using the cage (obviously they use it at night when I am not there) and which ones are just staying in the bat box.

My hubby suggested using a beam-break sensor like this one but instead of it lighting up or sounding an alarm, I want it to count the times the beam is broken.

The plan is to place it over the opening to the bat box, and ideally, when each bat comes out for the night, they will break the beam and get counted, so then I will know how many bats have been out.

IDEALLY, I would link up two of the kits or arrange it so that it would only count when two beams are broken in a specific sequence, so that it counts bats as they come out of the box, but they don't count them a second time as they go into the box - so it is directional. (having said that this part is not essential, i would be delighted with just a counter).

So if anyone can suggest a solution, I'd really appreciate any advice. I've got several brain cells knocking around so I think I could manage the wiring up, etc, but I don't know where to begin with adjusting the kit.

Many thanks!!!

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    I know nothing about bats but here is an idea worth considering.