basics of 8051 microcontroller

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by PG1995, Mar 15, 2012.

1. PG1995

Thread Starter Active Member

Apr 15, 2011
    Hi

I have started learning 8051 microcontroller using this book. You can see the list of the chapters in the attachment. In first five or six chapters the book uses assembly language and afterwards it uses C language. I have some basic knowledge of C++ programming.

Is there any software available (I'm sure there would be one) which I can use to learn the basic assembly language programming, or programming in general, of 8051? For example, when I was learning basic C++ I used CodeBlocks compiler. The compiler, simulator or whatever you want to recommend me should use graphical user interface (not some DOS kind of stuff). Thank you for your help.

Regards
    PG

2. steveb

Jul 3, 2008
    Is this a class with a lab course associated with it? Most microcontroller type classes have a lab section in which the concepts are applied on real hardware. If so, then I would recommend you use whatever tools are used in the lab.

Also, page X or your book recommends two assemblers, and the diskette that comes with the book provides more information on those.

3. PG1995

Apr 15, 2011
    Thank you.

The course does have a lab associated with it but I don't it would help me much because the instructor doesn't know much about the stuff and this is the first time he is conducting the this lab.

Yes, I have checked it; the page X has the recommendations (e-book version doesn't contain page X). The link mentioned on the page has good stuff.

1: Do you have any idea which one of the two, Proview32 and Keil, is a good one?

2: When we can also use C language to program the 8051, then what's the advantage of using the assembly language?

3: The link also mentions a trainer. Is there some kind of virtual trainer available in the form of a software? I have found these:
    http://mcu8051ide.sourceforge.net/