Basic Troubleshooting [PID Temperature Controller]

polymathematical

Joined Jun 8, 2009
Hi,

I am attempting to modify a commercial temperature controller (Thorlabs ITC133: http://www.thorlabs.com/NewGroupPage9.cfm?ObjectGroup_ID=984&pn=ITC133) in order to make it more suitable for our particular application, namely stabilizing the temperature of a diode/mount setup. The problem with the circuit as it was given to me was that with the integrator turned on, the temperature would oscillate continually over a range of greater than 10 degrees Celsius. Without the integrator, the temperature would not settle at exactly the correct setting.

I have done a huge amount of reading and searching online, so I have a pretty good idea of PID tuning and generally how the circuit works. However, I'm quite new to circuit modification and soldering and so I have had a difficult time troubleshooting. Some modifications to similar circuits (eg. ITC102; I believe the technical specs are available at the above link) have been made in our lab and I have been using these as a guideline. However, the problem is that the people who made these modifications no longer work here, and the changes they made were not properly documented, so there is a lot of guesswork on my end.

Modifications I have made have mostly been to add capacitors and to increase the value of resistors. From what I can gather, I have mostly been changing the integrator portion of the circuit, and also modifying the differential portion to a small extent.