Basic Electrical Question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Pika, Aug 18, 2013.

1. Pika

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 27, 2010
    I'm a newbie in electronics. Suppose I have a circuit board that requires 28V, 3A. Apparently if I set the power supply to 28V and 4A, the circuit board will only draw the required amps it needs (3A). Will the same apply if I set the voltage to say 30V, 4A, would the circuit board only draw 28V and 3A or would that cause an over voltage to the board? Additionally, sometimes I get an OVP on the power supply. What causes it?

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    It all depends alot on the circuit, but in the simplest sense, you increase the voltage, the current will increase accordingly.
    Also you may start to exceed the voltage rating of certain components.
    Max.

3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Typically circuits are voltage operated. They operate at their rated voltage and take whatever current they need. Thus the power supply needs to be set at the rated voltage and able to deliver as much current as the circuit requires. If the supply can deliver more current that's ok since the circuit only takes what it needs. Circuits do have some tolerance on their operating voltage. ±5% is a common tolerance.

4. Metalmann

Dec 8, 2012
    "If the supply can deliver more current that's ok since the circuit only takes what it needs."

I'm still trying to wrap this brain around that fact, concept.:cool:

5. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Take a 12V car battery and connect it to the lightbulb used in the dome light. It draws a certain, relatively small, amount of current; probably well under 1A. Now connect that same dome light to two 6V lantern batteries wired in series and it will probably light about as well drawing about that same current of something under 1A.