basic diode selection

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by halley, Dec 27, 2008.

1. halley

Thread Starter Member

Dec 27, 2008
    Hi, lurked for a while, finally registered to ask.

Every time I open a book on basic electronics projects, I'll see a pile of projects that depend on using diodes for a variety of reasons. Sometimes they want to exploit the forward voltage, sometimes they are just protecting the circuit from back voltage. And I'm not even talking about Zener diodes.

Here's the thing. There is usually a part number in the textbook that bears no resemblance to the part numbers on my local store shelf. As a rank beginner, I'm invariably put into this improvisation situation. I walk down the aisle, and I see dozens of diode values. For example, the store displays three items next to each other: 1N4001 (1A to 50Vpk), 1N4004 (1A to 400Vpk), 1N4007 (1A to 1000Vpk). All the same price, all the same as well.

Assuming my needs are always in the 12V or TTL range, less than 0.7A from the +12V pole, and I only care about digital signalling, is there a reason these are not functionally equivalent? As a digital guy, it seems like I would just want a yes/no world, but I guess diodes aren't as simple as all that. Is it better to go with the 50Vpk than the preposterous 1000Vpk for some reason I don't understand?

Don't worry, I'll ask the same dumb question about digital switching transistors and power transistors next! : )
  2. SgtWookie

Jul 17, 2007
    At low voltages, the whole 1N4000 series will act about the same. It's when you get into things like higher voltage doublers/triplers/etc that the PIV really comes into play.

But even in low voltage applications, let's say you built a power supply and used a couple of rectifier diodes with low PIV, and you get a transient through the transformer due to a lightning strike - a low PIV diode might get "zapped" by the spike.