bandwidth filter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by fred_uk, Feb 8, 2009.

1. fred_uk

Thread Starter Active Member

Jan 3, 2009
    can anyone help with the design of a bandwidth filter, i have the documentation but cant seem to work out the values, I am a newbie at this.

the freqency is 500hz to 3000hz

Thanks

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    Have you chosen a filter circuit topology?

hgmjr

3. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    Are you interested in active filters?

Where is the documentation?

4. fred_uk

Jan 3, 2009
    sorry guys, i must admit i know very little about filters, other than i need a bandpass filter, from 500hz to 3000hz, i was then hopeing to use a transitor to provide a switched output on the presence of a tone within the bandwidth specified

sorry about the lack of documentation, im a newbie at this

5. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    Then you can use a band pass filter like this one here:

http://www.captain.at/electronics/active-filter/

Then use a comparator to compare the output of the filter with a DC voltage and when the output of the filter is greater than the DC voltage the comparator will go high.

6. fred_uk

Jan 3, 2009
    thanks mike,

will i be able to cover the full bandwidth (500hz to 3000hz) in which case the centre freq would be 1750hz ?? would that be correct?

7. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    You if you set the bandwidth of the filter properly. However, remember that filters are not ideal they will pass frequencies near the bandwidth with a respectable amplitude.

8. Skeebopstop

Jan 9, 2009
    Hey Mike, do you know of a site showing the derivation of the filter you posted?

I found this one which seems easier and simpler to implement (See inverting band pass):

http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/filter/filter_7.html

Perhaps it doesn't have as good an attenuation?