Band Pass Filter

noingwhat

Joined Jul 23, 2010
Hi! I want to create some sort of band pass filter for my stereo setup to filter the sound to my sub woofer. I want either 100hz and below, or 80hz and below, it doesn't make much of a difference. I am wiring the sub woofer in parallel with my left and right speakers.

So my questions start here. First off I want to know if I should use a passive or active filter because I am still a beginner so I am not sure if I want to go into something such as an active filter. Also, will I need to build some sort of circuit to redirect the untouched sound to the smaller speakers because it will be wired in parallel? So what kind of circuit should I use?

Also I need some sort of mid-range and high pass filter for my stereo speakers, all I want to do is filter out the 100hz that will go to my subwoofer, because I have such a huge bass boost on that my stereo speakers sound distorted with their tiny 5" woofers.

So what kind of circuit do I need to seperate the audio at the 100hz line and send the low end one way, and the high end the other?

Thanks to all that help!!!

windoze killa

Joined Feb 23, 2006
Firstly I would go with active filters as they can be better controlled and adjusted. You do realise that what you are considering can be bought off the shelf at nearly all electronics stores. I don't know where you are but here in Australia they are freely available. Depending on quality they range from about $10 each upto $100s. Of course buying one takes all the fun out of it.

Try doing a search for audio crossover circuits on google. Comes up with heaps.

noingwhat

Joined Jul 23, 2010