AVRstudio and WinAVR

Mazaag

Joined Oct 23, 2004
I just installed AVRstudio followed by WinAVR..

When i look under the plug-in manager for AVRstudio, it says that there is a AVR-GCC plugin by atmel.... is this from installing WinAVR? or is this something different? and what is the difference between this and WinAVR... ?

If it not WinAVR, how do i use WinAVR in conjunction with AVRstudio?

Thanks

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
WINAVR is the C-language compiler. What you describe sounds like you were successful in installing AVRSTUDIO4 and WINAVR.

If you want to write your AVR code in C then all need to do launch AVRSTUDIO4 and select AVR-GCC. After answering a few startup question you should find yourself in the C-language editor.

hgmjr

Mazaag

Joined Oct 23, 2004
okay perfect,

I have everythign now, everything is ste up , i tested the STK and its working fine, serial port working fine, everything PERFECT

now its time to start programming..
I have some experience programming in Assembly and C, but I am not exactly sure how to access registers and set registers to values using C.

Are there any code samples that I could look at ? like very basic code samples ( set portB to output, output to LEDs , delay , etc)

Mazaag

Joined Oct 23, 2004
Another thing,

When i'm using the C compiler, I can't use the include files that are in AVRStudio (since they are asm) ...

To my understanding, these include files have the port and registers addresses saved as variables , so that you can access the ports by name... is that correct?

If i'm going to be programming in C , does WinAVR have the equivalent include files for the different AVRs ?

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Give me a moment and I will get you a sample c program.

Are you going to be around for the next 30 minutes to an hour?

hgmjr

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005