AVR Schematic Review

steve1515

Joined Jun 24, 2012
Hello everyone.

I'm making my first electronics project that will (hopefully) end up as a PCB. It's a Serial to Ethernet Gateway that uses an Atmega328p (Arduino) and a WizNet WIZ811MJ (W5100) Ethernet board. I was hoping to get some review and critique of my circuit before I go and buy parts.

Here is some info on it...
I expect about 12VDC as input with regulators providing 5V and 3.3V on the board. The Atmega will have a dip switch for config settings and LED's for status. There is also a MAX232 for RS-232 level conversion.

I believe that I have everything wired and selected correctly, but since this is my first try at producing a PCB, I'd like a review.

I'm a little concerned that I might have selected the wrong cap values or types, so please let me know.

Also, for the WIZ811MJ board, there are 3 4.7k resistors pulling up unused inputs. Could I take the three unused inputs, tie them together, and then connect them to a single 10k resistor and then to 3.3V? Would that also work?

Finally, I wasn't sure, but do I need to add some kind of cap from the Atmega chip's reset pin to ground? I believe that this might be unneeded, but I wasn't sure.

Thanks for any help! :)

Attachments

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
I don't really know why it must be Tantalum.

And why not use switcher ICs such as MC34063, both for 5v and 3.3v?
You'd need 470uF or something like this on the output, and 220uF on the input.

A voltage reference also could not be wrong, for instance a 78L05 + voltage divider (for 2.5V).

I never used MC34063 until a few days ago but it worked as intended, did not calculate anything. Keeps the heatsink away, and it's still reasonably small.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I'm making my first electronics project ...
This is a doozy for a first project! :eek: