AVR and Ardino talk

maxpower097

Joined Feb 20, 2009
Hey fellers I'm new to the avr line of products and was seeking some advice an clarification.

1. The Ardino, is this basically like a picaxe for avr?

2. What is the standard programmer for avr chips? I've been looking around and can't seem to find the PK2 =ivilent.

3. Would you suggest I start with the ardino's or straight old school avr? I'm not planning any projects based on them but I would like to play with some just to extend my understanding of uC's. I'm really looking for the most compatible for the industry that would help me move on to other chips like ARM's, MSP430's, etc....

4. Which demo board do you guys recommend? I'm looking mikroe's easyavr6 or possibly a cheapo basic board from feebay.

Thanks for any insight you can give, I have experience in ASM and C - 8, 16, and 32bit PICS.

Dragonblight

Joined Aug 19, 2009
I'm not 100% on everything, however,

<research>

According to my research, the picaxe is just a pre-programmed pic, while the arduino is a 'prototyping platform'.

The arduino seems like a microcontroller on a development board, it reminds me of a board meant to learn a microcontroller and make a few playings before moving on to making your own circuits.

the similarities between the picaxe and the arduino seem to be primarily in the programming, as the arduino seems to have it's own, proprietary programming language. I know nothing about this language, so more research.

>research<

The picaxe uses flow chart programming? First i've seen of that, and I think i'll be cynical towards it because i'm a curmudgeon.

The Arduino uses a language called 'wiring' I belive, it seems to be a variation of C/C++ that's more user friendly.