Automatic Forward-Reverse DC Motor with Relays and Switches

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by thunderlyger, Jul 10, 2016.

1. thunderlyger

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 30, 2016
    Hello! I promise I've searched and tried to work this out but my background is scale modelling, so I'm really just lost here.

My friend asked if I could figure out a way to avoid spending £3k on a vacuum casting machine. It's two cups, one above the other, each holding a different half of the epoxy resin mix. Top cup tips into the bottom one, there's a mixer going, then the bottom cup tips into a mould. All in a vaccum to avoid air bubbles.

I managed to sort out 555 timer circuits to time the operations, and needed a solution to tip the cups then right them again. I thought the rotation of a ~30rpm motor would be good, with a pause to empty, then back upright.

Google gifted me with SgtWookie's circuit here:

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/t...ggled-by-555-timer-with-limit-switches.61897/

[​IMG]

So brandishing the soldering iron, I managed to cobble it together on some perfboard.

I added the decoupling capacitors he recommends as an addition to his design, and I have replaced R3 and R4 with 56.1k resistors to get near the time I need and adjust them from there. I am powering the whole shebang from a PC PSU.

Circuit schematics are a bit of a mystery to me, so I made the following assumptions - the relays both wanted the NC connecting to ground, and the switches had no polarity and needed connecting by the COM and NC tabs, with nothing on NO.

Powering up, the motor rotates counter-clockwise, then times out, but stays still until timing out again, at which time it resumes going counterclockwise. I can hear what I assume are the relays clicking.

So, I made it again, as I must have broken something, but with the same results.