Automated DC Motor Forward/Reverse/Brake

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by BiomedEngineer, Nov 14, 2012.

1. BiomedEngineer

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 14, 2012
    Hello all!

I am fairly new to circuit design, I have some background but not too much. What I need is a pretty simple circuit to control a DC motor. The motor needs to go in clockwise position to screw in a screw shaped device. Once the screw is in it will need to stop automatically (proximity sensor?). After an adjustable amount of time (around 30 seconds) the motor will reverse and unscrew and stop automatically. This will repeat for a series of about 5-7 days to give you an idea of how robust it must be.

I am not really sure the best way to achieve this. I have looked into 555 timers, DPDT relays, and H-bridges. I am not against off-the-shelf products and price isn't too big of a concern.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks. :D

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Does it have to be a DC motor?
    What is the current, voltage, power and torque rating of the motor?
    Can you replace the DC motor with a stepping motor?

3. BiomedEngineer

Nov 14, 2012
    It does not have to be a DC motor. I do not actually have a motor yet because I can get one to suit the circuit design.

Forgot to mention that sorry!

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    You have to provide us with some information on the kind of load the motor has to move.
    Also distance of travel, speed, resolution, etc.
    I stepping motor might be a better choice if we were given more info.

5. BiomedEngineer

Nov 14, 2012