Automate Baking Process

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by DGuggenb, Feb 12, 2013.

1. DGuggenb

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 12, 2013
    Hey guys,
    I am a mechanical engineer looking for some advice on electronics. I would like to create an automated mixing/cooking process. Something where I could program let's say a gate to open and have ingredients fall into a pot at a certain time, or a valve to open to let a certain amount of liquid in, etc. Early in my schooling I had some experience with C++ and smaller robotics programming, but that knowledge is mostly gone. I have no problem studying and refreshing some of these things on my own, but I need some help in steering me in the right direction. Is C++ the right type of computer lanuage for this? Do I use something like raspberry pi for a microcontroller and then combine this with various servo motors and other small elecronics? It would be a timed process, mainly having certain things happen at certain times. Thanks!

2. SPQR

Nov 4, 2011
    There are many many possibilities.
    I like Arduino, but any of the other platforms will work great.
    Do NOT worry about the programming language.
    Recently I was doing some comparisons between PICAXE and Arduino, and one of the users said
    "Don't worry about the programming, you could teach your dog to do it!":D

If I were you, I'd do the thinking about the mechanics, then think about the sensors/actuators you need.
    Once you get that done, then the rest will fall into place.
    Best of luck.

3. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Generally micro controllers don't use C++ but just C, as the demands C++ has for memory are oft not met in tiny systems.