Auto-Sensing A/V switch

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Krum110487, May 9, 2013.

1. Krum110487

Thread Starter New Member

May 9, 2013
    First off, I am a programmer at heart and a novice when it comes to electronics, I can solder fairly well, I know logic gates. I am looking to start working on more electronics. I have done a couple starter projects, but I don't know much, it was mostly monkey-see monkey-do work.

I figured it would be best to start simple and I figured since an A/V switch is so simple, an auto-sensing one wouldn't be TOO hard. :rolleyes:

So I have found MANY different tutorials on how to make an A/V switch, but none with auto-sensing (auto-switching), I am lost as to how it would even be done or how much degradation would occur and how to prevent degradation. My goal right now is to get a circuit created (hopefully with some guidance of the good people here) that auto switches between 2 A/V inputs (which I plan to expand to more).

In the future I want to make adding ports "modular" and expandable to easily upgrade to more ports by "plugging-in" another module.

Now that you know my plan, let me ask the first question, where would I start? I don't even know what components I would use to sense it or the idea behind "sensing" a signal for video input. Any information is appreciated, and I will happily draw up what I think the circuit should look like once I get a bit more information.

thanks.

2. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Last edited: May 9, 2013
  3. Krum110487

May 9, 2013
    perfect, I forgot to mention I was working with composite, I am curious if anyone out there has used one of these chips and the quality of them, it seems to be that the samsung one is "better" from what little I understand, I am looking for the best quality for video possible.